Close Menu

James Heiting Recieves Florentino Garza Fortitude Award

On October 23, 2014, the San Bernardino County Bar Association awarded James Heiting with the Florentino Garza Fortitude Award for his efforts and contributions to the legal community. The award was founded in 2002 and named after Florentino Garza, a San Bernardino lawyer that positively impacted the legal community. It is presented to recognize and honor distinguished members of the bar and bench.

Christopher Jensen, an attorney who has known Heiting for 25 years and has spent much time with him on a dispute resolution panel, said “I don’t think anybody deserves this more. . . He’s one of those people who constantly gives back. We can all aspire to do as well as Jim. The reputation of Mr. Garza puts those receiving this award in a lofty position, and I have no doubt in my mind that Jim deserves to be right there.” Jensen added, “I grew up as a young lawyer knowing Florentino Garza. . . He’s one of the ones we all want to be. We don’t have a lot of them, but we have a few. Jim Heiting is one of them.”

Heiting was awarded president of the San Bernardino Bar Association from 2005-2006 and later became the only lawyer from the Inland Empire to be president of the State Bar of California. He has continued to stay involved in the legal community, standing up for justice at every opportunity.

Colleagues and peers have consistently gone to Heiting for leadership, support, and friendship throughout the decades. “Jim chose a different path by engaging life fully, becoming a leader in bar activities to make our profession better, both at the local and state levels, and devoted himself to a life of outstanding service to the law and to his community,” James Hackleman, a previous recipient of the Florentino Garzo Fortitude award, reporting to the San Bernardino County Bar Association October Bulletin.

Heiting is a managing partner at Heiting & Irwin and represents clients under a variety of personal injury claims, medical malpractice, wrongful death, and worker’s compensation.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn