Weird Laws in California
California, like many states, has a history of laws that are well, let’s call them “curious.” These weird rules have accumulated over time, filling the Golden State legal records with humorous rules.
As experienced attorneys in Riverside, California, we are asked from time to time about the state’s weirdest laws. In an effort to satisfy your taste for legal humor, we set out to find some of California’s quirkiest statutes.
From The Dumb Network, LLC, here are some seriously weird laws from Riverside and around California:
- In Riverside, you may not carry a lunch down the street between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m.
- It’s unlawful to allow your dog pursue a bear or bobcat at any time in California. (Seriously, check it out.)
- Women may not drive in a housecoat in California.
- No vehicle driven in California may exceed 60 miles per hour without a driver.
- Bathhouses are against the law.
- Animals are banned from mating publicly within 1,500 feet of a school, tavern, or place of worship in California.
- In Los Angeles, toads may not be licked. (Completely true, as the toad referenced secretes a poison that some people were licking to produce an effect like heroin to become “high.”)
- In Norco, anyone wishing to keep a rhinoceros as a pet must first obtain a license for $100.
As you can imagine, many of these laws are outdated, or at least no longer enforced. Finding the original intent for many of these rules may take some digging, but they certainly can provide Californians a laugh on first-read.